Sunday, November 28, 2021

35th Anniversary Stellar Gospel Music Awards: Winners

Kirk Franklin
Kirk Franklin – Photography by GIP III, Courtesy of CCP

*Gospel icon Kirk Franklin was the top winner at the 35th annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards Sunday night. 

The event, hosted by Franklin, Jonathan McReynolds, and Koryn Hawthorne, awarded trophies in 28 categories for the year’s best performances in the genre — including six statues presented to the night’s big winner, Kirk Franklin.

The ceremony also featured moving tributes honoring Rep. John Lewis and COVID-19 First Responders to stirring songs of inspiration, power and praise, and epic performances by Tamela Mann, CeCe Winans, Anthony Brown, James Fortune, Travis Greene, Kierra Sheard, Marvin Sapp, Tye Tribbett and more. 

READ MORE: Singer Jaheim Shows Support for Trump in New Video: ‘He’s Saved A Lot of People’ / WATCH

KORYN HAWTHORNE – Photography by GIP III, Courtesy of CCP

Here’s more from the press release:

Franklin’s work on Long Live Love earned him five Stellar Awards for Male Vocalist of the Year, Album of the Year, Producer of the Year, Contemporary Male Vocalist of the Year, and Contemporary Album of the Year. Franklin earned an additional Song of the Year trophy for his work on “Love Theory.” Gospel great Donald Lawrence presents the Tri-City Singers received four Stellar Awards for work on the Goshen project including Choir of the Year and Contemporary Choir of the Year, as well as Song of the Year and Urban/Inspirational Single or Performance of the Year for “Deliver Me (This is My Exodus).” Gospel legend John P. Kee’s I Made It Out delivered three Stellar Awards for Traditional Male Vocalist, Traditional Album of the Year and Traditional Choir of the Year.

Singer/songwriter Tasha Cobbs Leonard garnered two trophies for Artist of the Year and Contemporary Female Vocalist of the Year for her project Heart, Passion, Pursuit, while Le’Andria Johnson earned two for her work on Donald Lawrence’s project, Goshen in the categories Albertina Walker Female Vocalist of the Year Award and the Traditional Female Vocalist of the Year. The Walls Group received two statues for Duo Group of the Year and Contemporary Duo Group of the Year for their album Friend in Me, along with newcomer Pastor Mike Jr. who took home a pair of Stellar Awards for New Artist of the Year and Rap/Hip Hop Gospel Album of the Year for his work on Live Free. Kurt Carr received two Stellar awards, one as an artist (Traditional Duo/Chorus Group of the Year) and another for Recorded Music Packaging of the Year for the Bless Somebody Else project.

Rounding out the night with one Stellar Award each were JJ Hairston (Praise and Worship Album of the Year), Ben Tankard (Instrumental Album of the Year), Gospel Kids (Youth Project of the Year), Keith Wonderboy Johnson (Quartet of the Year) and Greenleaf; Season 3 (Special Event Album of the Year).

Top winners of the night: 

  • Kirk Franklin – 6
  • Donald Lawrence – 4
  • John P. Kee – 3
  • Kurt Carr – 3
  • Tasha Cobbs Leonard – 2
  • Le’Andria Johnson – 2
  • The Walls Group – 2
  • Pastor Mike Jr. – 2

The 2020 Stellar Awards will will replay August 29 –September 27 on BET.

Ny MaGee
Ny MaGee is a screenwriter and freelance reporter from Chicago -- currently living in Los Angeles and covering A-list entertainment for various outlets, including She has worked for: Miramax, MTV & VH1, The Jim Henson Company, Hallmark Channel, Paramount Pictures, and for iconic indie film producer Roger Corman.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -