Monday, May 27, 2024

Switch: After a 30 Plus Year Recording Absence Group Releases New Single ‘I Love You More’ – WATCH

*Northridge CA  – After a 30 plus year absence from the world recording scene, Switch is back with new music, starting with the single entitled “I Love You More.”

When you think of Switch, what comes to mind is silky smooth ballads, the soaring first tenor voice of Bobby DeBarge, the deep, rich alto of Phillip Ingram and the lush, full background harmonies sang by Gregory Williams, Tommy DeBarge, Eddie Fluellen and Jody Sims. All of this on top of the most beautiful yet funky ballads to ever come out of the late 70’s, early 80’s R&B/Pop music scene. Songs like “There’ll Never Be,” “I Wanna Be Closer,” “I Call Your Name” and “Love Over and Over” were written, arranged, produced and performed by this phenomenal group of six gorgeous men (which included the incredible guitar work of current member Michael McGloiry,) from whom the hits poured like fine wine.

While at Motown, from 1977 to 1983 Switch recorded five albums. Two went Platinum and three went Gold, culminating more than Eight Million record sales. After personnel changes, in 1983 the group Switch-ed from Motown to Total Experience/RCA Records. After releasing one album, in 1986 the group disbanded and remained that way for close to two decades. With Switch’s founder/leader Gregory Williams staying in contact with his Switch brothers over those years, in July 2003 he reached out to each of the guys, Switch reunited and welcomed newcomer Akili Nickson whoever so gracefully fills the empty shoes left by Bobby DeBarge (R.I.P.); and the band plays on!


As each man continued on in the music/recording business over the post Switch years, naturally the desire to make new music burned strong. So the reunited Switch, which consist of leader Gregory Williams (Original-keyboards/vocals), Phillip Ingram (Original-Co-Lead vocals/keyboards ), Akili Nickson (Co-Lead vocals/percussions), Eddie Fluellen (Original-keyboards/trombone/vocals), Michael McGloiry (Original-Guitar/vocals), Deon Estus (Bass/vocals former member of Wham) and Tefer Hazy (Drums), headed back into the studios of LA between live performances to do what they do best, make magic through music. And with this new song “I Love You More”, magic is exactly what they made!

We invite you to put our song in your favorite MP3 player, close your eyes, reminisce on your past, embrace the future and let Switch Love You More! You’ll be glad you did!!

In addition, Switch’s founder/leader Gregory Williams has also self-published/release his autobiography “Switch, DeBarge, Motown and Me!” on his own Switch Entertainment Book Publishing. Press Release to follow. Check out the book information on The band’s story was included in TV One’s Unsung: Switch and the popular TV One film “The Bobby DeBarge Story” (2019). And for more information, contact [email protected]





Cynthia Horner
[email protected]

We Publish News 24/7. Don’t Miss A Story. Click HERE to SUBSCRIBE to Our Newsletter Now!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


- Advertisement -