Monday, May 20, 2024

Nominations Now Accepted for NAACP’s Most Prestigious Civil Rights Award

NAACP - with people)

*BALTIMORE – NAACP National Board of Directors Chairman Leon W. Russell announced the Association is soliciting nominations for the 104th Spingarn Award.  All nominations for the 104th Spingarn Medal must be submitted, in writing, on or before December 31, 2018.  To be accepted, the postmark date on the envelope must be no later than December 31, 2018.

The Medal, which was instituted in 1914 by the late J. E. Spingarn, then NAACP Chairman, is awarded to a man or woman of African descent and American citizenship who has made the highest achievement during the preceding year or years, as well as consideration of an overall body of work by an individual.

The purpose of the medal is twofold – first, to call the attention of the American people to the existence of distinguished merit and achievement among Americans of African descent; and secondly – to serve as a reward for such achievement and as a stimulus to the ambition of youth of African descent.

Former medalists include: the late Maya Angelou, Harry Belafonte, the late Julian Bond, the Honorable Willie L. Brown, Jr., the late Honorable Robert L. Carter, Honorable John Conyers, the late Ruby Dee, the late John Hope Franklin, the late Mrs. Frankie Muse Freeman, Earl G. Graves, Sr., the late Dorothy I. Height, the late Judge A. Leon Higginbotham, the late Honorable Oliver W. Hill, Sr., the late Lena Horne, Rev. Jesse JacksonThe Hon. Nathaniel R. Jones, Quincy Jones, Vernon Jordan,  the Honorable John Lewis, the late Hon. Constance Baker MotleyJessye Norman, the late Gordon Parks, Sidney Poitier, Colin Powell, the late Percy E. Sutton, Cicely Tyson, the late Carl Rowan, Myrlie Evers-Williams, Governor L. Douglas Wilder and Oprah Winfrey.

Nominations must include a detailed, current biographical profile of the nominee, highlighting relevant activities and achievements.  Supporting and verifying documents such as news clippings, honors received, etc., should also be attached.  This information should be clearly typewritten or printed, as it must be reproduced.

The final selection of the Medalist is made by a Committee of Award, which is selected by the Association’s Board of Directors.  The Committee’s decision is final in all matters affecting the Award.

Nominations should be addressed to:  The Spingarn Medal Award Committee, Attention:  Mrs. Mildred B. Roxborough, 50 Broadway, 31st Fl., New York, NY 10004. Must be postmarked by December 31, 2018


We Publish News 24/7. Don’t Miss A Story. Click HERE to SUBSCRIBE to Our Newsletter Now!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


- Advertisement -