Thursday, December 2, 2021

Dr. Fauci and Colin Kaepernick to be Honored with RFK Ripple of Hope Award

Fauci and Kaepernick

*Dr. Anthony Fauci and Colin Kaepernick are both being honored with the 2020 Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Ripple of Hope award

As noted by, the award is given to leaders who demonstrate a commitment to social change.

Fauci, the nation’s top infectious disease expert, is also the recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, awarded by President George W. Bush in 2008. 

“Dr. Fauci has advised six presidents on HIV/AIDS and many other domestic and global health issues and was one of the principal architects of the President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR), a program that has saved millions of lives throughout the developing world,” RFK Human Rights said in a press release. 

Kaepernick, former NFL player turned activist, made headlines in 2016 when he began kneeling during the national anthem before games to protest police brutality and racial injustice. 

OTHER NEWS YOU MIGHT HAVE MISSED: Is it Over? Almost Over? Kim K and Kanye West Said to Living Separate Lives: Report

Kap is also co-founder of Know Your Rights Camp, which aims “to advance the liberation and well-being of Black and Brown communities through education, self-empowerment, mass-mobilization and the creation of new systems that elevate the next generation of change leaders.”

In a statement about the award, he said: “In 2017, I was in the audience honoring Mr. Harry Belafonte as he accepted the Robert F. Kennedy Ripple of Hope Award. I am humbled to follow the footsteps of individuals like Mr. B and to be in the company of all the other laureates. Thank you for this prestigious award.” 

The award, presented by the Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights nonprofit, honors leaders “who have demonstrated a commitment to social change and reflect Robert Kennedy’s passion for equality, justice, basic human rights, and his belief that each of us can make a difference.”

Past recipients include Barack Obama, Joe Biden, Congressman John Lewis, Apple CEO Tim Cook, actor Robert De Niro and Hillary Clinton

The 52nd annual Ripple of Hope Award Gala will be held virtually on December 10, 2020.

Ny MaGee
Ny MaGee is a screenwriter and freelance reporter from Chicago -- currently living in Los Angeles and covering A-list entertainment for various outlets, including She has worked for: Miramax, MTV & VH1, The Jim Henson Company, Hallmark Channel, Paramount Pictures, and for iconic indie film producer Roger Corman.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -