Tuesday, August 9, 2022

Xscape to Receive ASCAP’s Prestigious Golden Note Award

[videowaywire video_id=”4A40F51F413C3C4F”]

*The four original members of Xscape are expected to reunite next month to receive a career-defining honor from the American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers – a.k.a. ASCAP.

The performance-rights organization will present its prestigious Golden Note Award to the R&B group during its 31st annual Rhythm & Soul Music Awards on June 21 in Los Angeles.

The four members of Xscape — Kandi Burruss, Tameka “Tiny” Cottle, Tamika Scott and LaTocha Scott — join previous Golden Note recipients such as Usher, Lauryn Hill, Alicia Keys and Jay-Z.

Discovered by producer Jermaine Dupri, the quartet first came to prominence in 1993 with its platinum debut album “Hummin’ Comin’ At ‘Cha,” which featured the hits “Just Kickin’ It” and “Understanding.” Xscape later scored two more platinum albums, Off the Hook and Traces of My Lipstick, and additional hits including “The Arms of the One Who Loves You,” “Who Can I Run To” and “My Little Secret.”

Last year, Xscape celebrated its 25th anniversary with a reunion tour and a docu-series on Bravo. As the group was preparing to tour, Kandi announced she would not take part due to her busy schedule.

“Xscape knocked us all out in the ‘90s with their powerful vocal harmonies and surprised absolutely no one as they went on to become one of the most prolific female R&B groups of all time,” said ASCAP president Paul Williams in a statement. “Decades later, all four members have gone on to individual success in music and on screen, and we are thrilled to recognize their achievements with the ASCAP Golden Note Award.”




- Advertisement -