Thursday, August 11, 2022

Soul Icons Tower of Power to Release 25th Album and Celebrate 50th Anniversary on June 1

*On June 1, Artistry Music, A Mack Ave Label will release Soul Side of Town  Tower of Power’s 25th album- a cranial-crushing funk amalgamation of soul, vintage R&B, groove, pop and rock.

It’s the centerpiece for a celebratory 50th Anniversary campaign that includes the re-release of four hard to find independent productions  The East Bay Archive Vol. 1 (a 1973 live recording from Boston), Oakland Zone (a 2008 release celebrated for the return of drummer David Garibaldi after several years away), Great American Soulbook (an all-star affair of soul classics featuring guests such as Joss Stone, Tom Jones, Sam Moore and Huey Lewis), and 40th Anniversary: Live at The Fillmore in San Francisco (a deluxe multi-disc CD/DVD collector’s item loaded with great new live renditions of hits plus interviews with alumni past and present).

Soul Side of Town has 14 filler-free songs that delve into the golden canon of classics with a fresh approach to new material picking up the torch in all of the time-tested styles fans respect and love.  It’s the perfect backdrop for a hair-raising audio experience.


Tower of Power - photo by Anna Webber
Tower of Power – photo by Anna Webber

Comprised of fourteen funky vibrant and intricately woven songs that exhibit a wide range in musicality that’s both modern and electrifying.  From soon to be classics like “Hangin’ with my Baby”, “Butter Fried” and “After Hours” to the funky “Stop” and  love songs “I Can’t Stop Thinking About You”,  “Love Must Be Patient and Kind”, Let it Go”  which is a heart throbber, and “Do it With Soul” for the people providing the soundtrack for generations to come.

Founding member, Composer, Saxophonist  Emilio Castillo  reflects ” Celebrating 50 years together is a surreal experience. Recording with Producer Joe Vannelli and finishing 28 all new original songs has been a huge project and probably what may be the best work of our career. Touring at the same time while planning the filming of our 50 Year Anniversary Concert is like being in a whirlwind. People everywhere congratulating us and planning to fly to the concert from all over the world is just amazing. It’s all one big blur right now. God what a wonder!!!”

Listen to the title track “On The Soul Side Of Town”:

About Tower of Power:
Since its formation in Oakland, California in 1968, Tower of Power has forged a reputation as a crack band of high achieving musicians fluent in all realms of Soul, Rock and Pop music with a sophistication and punch like that of a Jazz big band.

Along with veteran members Castillo, Kupka, Garibaldi and Prestia, T.O.P. consists of guitarist Jerry Cortez, Hammond B3 organist/keyboardist Roger Smith, 1st tenor saxophonist Tom Politzer, and trumpeters Adolfo Acosta and Sal Cracchiolo. Soul Side of Town is also blessed with not one but two lead singers: outgoing Ray Greene (now in Santana) and incoming Marcus Scott (boldly introduced on several selections, including “Hanging with My Baby”). The 10-piece Tower of Power band is prepared to throw down next year with a celebratory tour that will include sweet spots around the globe.

Soul Side of Town Tracklisting:

  1. East Bay! All Day!
  2. Hangin’ With My Baby
  3. Do You Like That
  4. On The Soul Side of Town*
  5. Do It With Soul
  6. Love Must Be Patient and Kind
  7. Butter Fried
  8. Selah
  9. Let It Go
  10. Stop
  11. When Love Takes Control
  12. After Hours
  13. Can’t Stop Thinking About You
  14. East Bay! Oakland Style!

*Available for instant download with pre-order on iTunes or available to stream.

Soul Side of Town will be released on CD, Vinyl and Digitally. Album pre-orders are now available by Clicking HERE and across all DSPs.

Tower of Power  will be performing at the Fox Theatre in Oakland for two nights on June 1 & 2nd serving as the release celebrations as well as the Playboy Jazz Festival at the Hollywood Bowl on June 10th and many other dates in Tucson, Atlanta, Chicago, Seattle, DC, Annapolis, St. Louis, Kansas City, NY and other tour dates TBA


This year promises to be a blast.

For more information on Tower of Power:

Official Website  ] Facebook ] Twitter ] Instagram ] YouTube






Fiona Bloom
The Bloom Effect




- Advertisement -