Sunday, September 25, 2022

Oprah Winfrey, Colin Kaepernick, Questlove, ‘Hurt Bae’ Among Webby Awards Nominees

[videowaywire video_id=”3436A214AB110CB9″]

Oprah Winfrey attends the European premiere of Disney's "A Wrinkle In Time" at BFI IMAX on March 13, 2018 in London, England.
Oprah Winfrey attends the European premiere of Disney’s “A Wrinkle In Time” at BFI IMAX on March 13, 2018 in London, England.

*The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences has announced the nominations for its Webby Awards, shining a spotlight on Internet-centric organizations that over the last year have addressed such hot-button topics as sexual harassment, immigration and gun control.

Oprah Winfrey, Colin Kaepernick, RuPaul, Questlove and Shonda Rhimes are among the talent up for awards this year.

In the Best Host (Podcasts & Digital Audio) category, Oprah’s SuperSoul Conversations, RuPaul: What’s the Tee with Michelle Visage and Questlove Supreme (see video above) will face off against each other. Intercepted and Criminal Podcast round out the category.

“Hurt Bae asks: Why did you cheat on me?” received a nod in the Viral (Film & Video) category, “Lynching in America: Confronting the Legacy of Racial Terror” earned a nod for Best Cause-Related Campaign (Advertising, Marketing & PR) and

Nominated for Best Music (Film & Video) are “Jazz Is The Mother Of Hip-Hop,” “This and Nothing Else: Chicago’s Hip-Hop Scene,” “Gaga: Five Foot Two,” “Residente: Prison Tour” and “Stormzy – Gang Signs & Prayer (The film).”

Vice Media received the most nominations with 29 total nods. Conde Nast is second with 26 nominations, followed by National Geographic with 22 nominations.

Winners of the 22nd annual Webbys will be announced on April 28 and celebrated at a star-studded awards show hosted by comedian Amber Ruffin on May 14 at Cipriani Wall Street.

The judges on the deciding panel of IADAS members include Jimmy Kimmel, Lyft CEO Logan Green, Girls Who Code Founder Reshma Saujani, Gimlet Media CEO Alex Blumberg, Instagram’s Eva Chen, social entrepreneur Van Jones, Internet inventor Vint Cerf and Playmatics CEO Margaret Wallace. The public can also vote online for one award, the People’s Voice award, from Tuesday, April 3, through Thursday, April 19.

View the full list of nominees at the Webby Awards website here.




- Advertisement -