Sunday, January 17, 2021

Wendy Raquel Robinson, Miguel Nunez Jr. to Host 26th NAACP Theatre Awards

naacp*The Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP Branch announces the co-hosts for the 26th Annual NAACP Theatre Awards being held on Monday, November 21, 2016, at Saban Theatre located at 8440 Wilshire Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA, 90211 at 6pm. Co-hosting this year will be Actors Wendy Raquel Robinson and Miguel Nunez, Jr.

One of the most talented, professional actors in the entertainment industry, Wendy Raquel Robinson is known for her groundbreaking role as the sexy and feisty sports manager ‘Tasha Mack’ from BET’s #1 rated scripted series, “The Game.” Ms. Robinson earned a 2015 and 2016 NAACP Image Award nomination for “Outstanding Actress in a Comedy Series” and is the 2014 NAACP Image Award recipient for “Outstanding Actress in a Comedy Series.”

She is the founder of a NAACP Award winning program, Amazing Grace Conservatory (AGC), a community based non-profit, 501(c)3 in South Los Angeles that focuses on performing arts training in acting, voice and dance for youth, ages 5-18.

Funny man Miguel Nunez has made a name for himself and built quite a fan base over the years. Born into a family of nine children in New York, following high school he moved to Los Angeles with dreams of becoming an actor. He’s best known as Jamal in the basketball comedy film, “Juwanna Man” with other prominent roles in “Harlem Nights”, “LIFE”, “Why Do Fools Fall in Love” and UPN’s hit television show “SPARKS”. In his latest film project, he stars alongside rapper/actor AKON in “The American King” hitting theatres in 2017.

Multi-NAACP Image award and EMMY award winner Joe Morton, famously known for his role as Eli Pope in ABC’s “Scandal”, will be presented the NAACP Lifetime Achievement Theatre Award by Actress, Choreographer and Executive Producer of Grey’s Anatomy Debbie Allen.

Tony award winning Director Kenny Leon, who is scheduled to direct “Hairspray Live! on NBC December 7, 2016, will be on hand to present accomplished actress and 2016 Tony Award Nominee LaTanya Richardson Jackson with the NAACP Trailblazer Theatre Award.

Miguel Nunez Jr.

America’s dreamgirl, the uber-talented and award winning actress Loretta Devine, will bestow our honoree, nine-time Grammy nominee and now thespian Ledisi with the Spirit Theatre Award. In addition to these esteemed thespians, honoree Rory Pullens, Executive Director of Arts Education Los Angeles Unified School District and former CEO at the nationally renowned Duke Ellington School of Arts in Washington, D.C. will receive the Humanitarian Award.


Other notables and gifted entertainers who will present awards to the 2016 NAACP nominees include: Kenny Lattimore (Artist), Pooch Hall (Ray Donovan), Marsai Martin and Miles Brown (Black-ish), Renee Lawless (The Haves and Have Nots), Omar Dorsey and Timon Kyle Garrett (Queen Sugar), Keesha Sharp (Lethal Weapon), Tonya Renee Banks (Little Women LA), Ted Lange (Veteran actor and thespian), Paul Jackson Jr., (Jazz Guitarist) and many more! These entertainers will all unite for one special evening to honor those who have made a difference in the theatre community and abroad.

Performances by 2016 EMMY Award winner Obba Babatunde’ with a special rendition of “Mr. Bojangles” and Tammi Mac will delight the audience with a dramatic excerpt from her 2016 NAACP Theatre Award winning one-woman play “Bag Lady” plus a powerful opening act that will draw attention to the positivity behind the Black Lives Matter movement are scheduled.

For more information about the 26th Annual NAACP Theater Awards, visit or contact Lisa Humphrey, Premier Concepts at 310-293-4154, email: [email protected].

About The NAACP Theatre Awards:

The NAACP Theatre Awards is presented by the Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP Branch in partnership with the 8th District office of Councilmember Bernard C. Parks and co-chaired by Byron K. Reed, Senior Vice President of Wells Fargo-West Region Community Relations. Ron Hasson is Branch President and Tia Boyd is the Executive Producer for the NAACP Theatre Awards Show.

The prestigious star-studded gala is produced for the purpose of honoring thespians among the best in the field of entertainment. The branch also celebrated a four-day theatre festival, which provides a platform for thespians to express their craft and share their contributions with an audience of their peers, the community and other individuals who celebrate live theatre in Los Angeles.





Lisa Humphrey-Premier Concepts
[email protected]




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -




Mo’Kelly and Roland Martin’s #Unfiltered Look at America (AUDIO)

*September 4th marks the launch of the highly-anticipated daily...

Mo’Kelly Pays Tribute to Aretha Franklin in Song (AUDIO)

*There is no better way to celebrate the life...