Tuesday, November 30, 2021

Eve, La La Anthony, Tasha Smith, Janet Mock, Norm Lewis Join VH1’s ‘Daytime Divas’

(L-R) Eve, La La Anthony, Tasha Smith and Janet Mock (Getty Images)
(L-R) Eve, La La Anthony, Tasha Smith and Janet Mock

*VH1 has announced additions to the cast of its upcoming hourlong scripted drama series “Daytime Divas,” inspired by Star Jones’ book Satan’s Sisters – which, in turn, was inspired by her stint as a co-host on “The View.”

The series will follow the daily fireworks that erupt between the five female co-hosts of fictitious talk show, “The Lunch Hour.” On camera, they are best friends with five very different points of view, but behind the scenes, they inhabit a world of power struggles, cat fights and cocktails.

Norm Lewis (Scandal), Eve (Eve), Kelly Osbourne (Fashion Police), Tasha Smith (Empire), La La Anthony (Power), Debby Ryan (Sing It), Janet Mock (TakePart Live), and Scott Evans (White Collar) have joined series stars Vanessa Williams, Tichina Arnold, Camille Guaty, Fiona Gubelmann and McKinley Freeman, according to Deadline.

Lewis will play William, a handsome doorman who may hold one of the ladies’ darkest secrets.

Eve will portray Cecile James, author of a book about alpha women who comes on “The Lunch Hour” as a guest host hoping to make her stint permanent.

Osbourne will play herself promoting a book on “The Lunch Hour.”

Smith is Portia Camden, a popular lifestyle guru who joins the ladies as a guest co-host on the show.

Anthony will play Isabel Carlisle, a crisis management expert brought in by Maxine to help handle a situation that has gone public with one of the hosts.

Ryan will play Maddie Finn, a former co-star and rival of Kibby (Chloe Bridges), looking to reconcile on “The Lunch Hour.”

Mock will play herself. She will be a guest co-host on “The Lunch Hour” who ends up connecting with and helping one of the other hosts.

Evans will play Julian, a celebrity sober coach helping to keep one of the ladies on track.

“Daytime Divas” is scheduled to premiere in 2017. The series was developed for television by Amy Engelberg and Wendy Engelberg who also executive produce along with Chris Alberghini and Mike Chessler (Awkward), Josh Berman (Drop Dead Diva), Star Jones, Suzanne de Passe (The Temptations), Madison Jones and Susan Levison.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -