Saturday, November 27, 2021

African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) Salutes Tyler Perry Studios Producer Mark E. Swinton

Mark E. Swinton

*(ATLANTA) – For the fifth straight year, the African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) brings its SYNERGY program to Atlanta. A signature program for the organization, SYNERGY provides an opportunity for creative professionals in the Southeast to connect and plant the seeds of growth and collaboration.

This year’s AAFCA SYNERGY will take place on Tuesday, October 4 at the newly renovated Auburn Avenue Research Library in Atlanta and will include a special tribute to Tyler Perry Studios producer/executive Mark E. Swinton.

Representing the leading black film critics in the United States, AAFCA produces an annual slate of community, academic and industry programming that includes collaborations with some of the leading film festivals, universities and premier film studios in the world. “Our primary goal as an organization is to create opportunities that will bring all communities together using the power of cinema,” says AAFCA president and co-founder, Gil Robertson, who lives part-time in the area.

“AAFCA is thrilled to bring SYNERY once again to Atlanta, and we hope that by celebrating Mark, we are able to illustrate the immense opportunities that are possible for other creative professionals who live in this region,” he adds. “Atlanta is a growing player in film and TV production, and we feel that with SYNERGY we’re providing a valuable opportunity that can help the Atlanta and Southeast film communities grow strong.”

Shortly after SYNERGY, AAFCA will also host a special screening of potential Oscar contending film, MOONLIGHT that will include a Q&A with its director Barry Jenkins and stars Naomie Harris (SKYFALL and SPECTRE) and Trevante Rhodes (TV series IF YOU LOVING YOU IS WRONG and WESTWORLD).

For more on AAFCA visit:


The AAFCA SYNERGY program also provides an intimate atmosphere where local professionals in the cinema community can meet, mix and mingle with their peers in the industry. Previous recipients of this award include Tirrell Whitley and Nick Nelson, Principal Partners at Liquid Soul Media (2012) and Charles Humbard, CEO of UPTV (2013), filmmaker Roger Bobb (2014) and Brett Dismuke and Eric Tomosunas (2015).

For more information about the organization visit:





source: Jeaunine Askew at 323-878-2399.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -