Wednesday, September 28, 2022

‘The People v. O.J. Simpson’ ‘Game of Thrones’ & ‘Veep’ Big Winners at 2016 Emmy Awards

*At the 2016 prime time Emmy Awards held in Los Angeles on Sunday (09-18-16), FX’s acclaimed docudrama “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story” walked away with 5 awards over all and the Emmy for Outstanding Limited Series.

The series was based on Jeffrey Toobin’s 1997 book “The Run of His Life: The People v. O.J. Simpson.” It chronicled the 1995 trial of Simpson in the slaying of his ex-wife Nicole Brown-Simpson and her friend, Ron Goldman. “The People v. O.J. Simpson” was created by Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski and starred Courtney B. Vance, Cuba Gooding Jr., John Travolta, Sarah Paulson and Sterling K. Brown.

Speaking of Paulson, and Brown, they were the individual winners from the series. Paulson, who played DA Marcia Clark, had Clark as her plus one guest.

Meanwhile, HBO’s “Game Of Thrones” made history with three wins, including a repeat as Best Drama Series, giving it the most Emmys ever for a scripted series. Another HBO show, “Veep,” also repeated, taking Best Comedy Series for a second year while its star Julia Louis-Dreyfus won for a record-tying fifth time in a row.

oj simpson drama (dominates-emmys)

Here is a list of winners at the annual Primetime Emmy Awards, announced Sunday by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences:

  • Supporting Actor, Comedy Series: Louie Anderson, “Baskets”
  • Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series: Alan Yang and Aziz Ansari, “Master of None”
  • Supporting Actress, Comedy Series: Kate McKinnon, “Saturday Night Live”
  • Directing, Comedy Series: Jill Soloway, “Transparent”
  • Actress, Comedy Series: Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “Veep”
  • Actor, Comedy Series: Jeffrey Tambor, “Transparent”
  • Reality-Competition Program: “The Voice”
  • Outstanding Writing in a Limited Series, Movie or Dramatic Special: D.V. BeVincentis, “The People v. O.J. Simpson American Crime Story”
  • Supporting Actress, Limited Series or Movie: Regina King, “American Crime”
  • Outstanding Directing for a Limited Series, Movie or Drama: Susanne Bier, “The Night Manager”
  • Supporting Actor, Limited Series or Movie: Sterling K. Brown, “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story”
  • Actress, Limited Series or Movie: Sarah Paulson, “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story”
  • Actor, Limited Series or Movie: Courtney B. Vance, “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story”
  • Television Movie: “Sherlock: The Abominable Bride”
  • Limited Series: “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story”
  • Writing for a Variety Special: Patton Oswalt, “Talking for Clapping”
  • Variety Talk Series: “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver”
  • Directing for a Variety Special: Thomas Kail and Alex Rudzinskifor “Grease Live”
  • Variety Sketch Series: “Key & Peele”
  • Writing for a Drama Series: David Benioff and D.B. Weiss “Game of Thrones”
  • Supporting Actress, Drama Series: Maggie Smith, “Downton Abbey”
  • Directing for a Drama Series: Miguel Sapochnik, “Game of Thrones”
  • Supporting Actor, Drama Series: Ben Mendelsohn, “Bloodline”
  • Actor, Drama Series: Rami Malek, “Mr. Robot”
  • Actress, Drama Series: Tatiana Maslany, “Orphan Black”
  • Outstanding Comedy Series: “Veep”
  • Outstanding Drama Series: “Game of Thrones”





- Advertisement -